So, Who Are You Guys Anyway?

I know, I know, I promised in my last post that I would address my second point on the Detroit Future City plan soon.  I most definitely will, likely later this week.  However, the passing of the New Year and the upcoming eleventh-month anniversary (!) of this blog tomorrow has caused me to be a little reflective.

I really enjoy having a forum for putting my thoughts on urban planning on display, and I hope that the readers of this blog find it to be useful, thoughtful and enlightening in perspective.  This all started with a guest essay I did over at the Urbanophile last February, and I was honored to have it recognized as one of the most popular pieces in 2012 on a well-respected blog following urban issues.  The reaction was overwhelming and got me believing that I could try doing something like that on my own, rather regularly.

In the eleven months since, I’ve had some ups and downs with the blog, largely in trying to find the time to write consistently and intelligently, and trying to nail down what exactly would be the overarching themes the blog would cover.  Initially my thought was that the blog would focus on midsize Midwestern cities, but I’ve since broadened that to become shrinking cities, whereever they are.  Whether I write consistently or intelligently is up for discussion.

Since February last year there have been nearly 10,000 pageviews.  I realize that’s a figure other websites and blogs surpass every five minutes, but I’m grateful for every single person who’s chosen to stop by and see my rough works in progress.  I’m grateful.

But I want to now ask you, who is it who stops by here?  I’d like to hear more from you.  Please feel free to comment on blog posts you like, or dislike.  Please, by all means, feel free to e-mail me and share your thoughts on how this blog could improve.

I want to do whatever I can to make this blog a great experience for those who stop by here, and increase the interactivity of the experience as well.  I hope to make the Corner Side Yard a good source of planning thinking in 2013.

2 thoughts on “So, Who Are You Guys Anyway?

  1. I'm an urban planning enthusiast in Chicago. I used to live in Lansing, MI and I have a lot of family in the Detroit metro area. I'm especially interested in issues related to Chicago and Detroit, but am also interested in issues related to the greater Midwest.

    Like

Leave a Reply

